Page Banner


Please visit  for more information on the Society of Herts Golf Captains

The Society of Hertfordshire Golf Captains was founded on January 21 1966. It now comprises some 600 members, both past and current Captains from most of the Hertfordshire Clubs.
The Society has, over the last 47 years, brought together Captains and Past Captains of Golf Clubs in Hertfordshire not only to play golf but also to enjoy the fellowship of others who have held the honored position of Captain of their Golf Club.
A series of seven Society meetings for members are arranged each year in Hertfordshire. There are also Inter-County Matches against 12 other Captains Societies which are keenly, though cordially, played. 
Membership is invited from Captains of Clubs affiliated to the Hertfordshire Golf Union.
All enquiries for membership should be sent to Eric Dimeny, Honorary Secretary, whose email is  
The Annual Subscription is £15 and is payable by Standing Order on January 1.

Officers for 2017/18


Les Sinkins

Old Fold Manor


Robert Browning

East Herts

Immediate Past Captain

Bob Howell



Jan Cembala

Brickendon Grange

Hon. Treasurer

Bob Howell


Hon. Secretary

Eric Diment

Aldwickbury Park


 Richard Blanchflower

Brookmans Park 

Neil Hewitt

Old Fold Manor

 Simon Tansley Essendon

Hon. Auditor:

 Melvyn Rose Radlett Park

 Clothing Manager:

 Ray Johnson Aldenham

Web Master:

Eric Wyllie

Aldwickbury Park

Crameri Cup
Early in the 1980s, the Society's Committee indicated that it would like to be seen to be fostering golf in the county. So in December 1982, the Society's captain, Eric Scriven, wrote to clubs inviting them to enter two teams in a knock-out competition for members who were over 55 on March 31. The trophy was to be called The Society of Hertfordshire Captains trophy, and entry was £2 per team. It was first played for in 1983 by 28 teams, and Harpenden were the first winners. In June 1983 the committee decided it would be called the Crameri Cup in recognition of the contribution made by R.T. Crameri (Cram), who was then President of the society and who had served as honorary secretary from 1970 to 1983. In 2008, 80 teams competed for the Cup. In 2007 Brookmans Park created a record by being the first club to contest the final with their A and B teams.

1966-67: J.J. Griffin, Knebworth
1967-68: L.A.W. Noble, East Herts
1968-69: P. Williams, Bushey Hall
1969-70: G.M. McNay, Welwyn Garden City
1970-71: E.G.P. Shipway, Bishops Stortford
1971-72: E. Allison, Letchworth
1972-73: C.W. Moxham, Mid-Herts
1973-74: W. Service, East Herts
1974-75: F. Tofield, West Herts
1975-76: W.E. Fernie, Old Fold Manor
1976-77: A. Coughtrey, Berkhamsted
1977-78: W. Oborne, Brookmans Park
1978-79: R.E. Bird, Welwyn Garden City
1979-80: G. Nye, Knebworth
1980-81: W.H. Skilton, Bushey Hall
1981-82: R.T. Crameri, Bishop's Stortford
1982-83: E.T. Scriven, Mid-Herts
1983-84: J. Gill, East Herts
1984-85: J.C. Harkett, Welwyn Garden City
1985-86: P.L. Brown, Letchworth
1986-87: E.D. Jordan, Bushey Hall
1987-88: B.V. Keighley, Old Fold Manor
1988-89: K. Bartlet, Berkhamsted
1989-90: D.H. Mitchell, Bishop's Stortford
1990-91: W.M. Robinson, Harpenden Common
1991-92: H.J. Williams, Brickendon Grange
1992-93: A. Sallis, Old Fold Manor
1993-94: J.A.S. Wackett, Harpenden
1994-95: R.H. Hewitt, Porters Park
1995-96: M.G. Amos, Letchworth
1996-97: L.J. Beardow, Verulam
1997-98: M. McKaig, West Herts
1998-99: W. Pearson, Harpenden
1999-2000: M.R. Nash, Mid-Herts
2000-2001: D.M. Craik, Brickendon Grange
2001-2002: D.B. Duke, Welwyn Garden City
2002-2003: J.E. Welch, Brookmans Park
2003-2004: L.H. Sinkins, Old Fold Manor
2004-2005: J. Smith, Berkhamsted
2005-2006: W. Brooks, Harpenden Common
2006-2007: M. Bye, South Herts
2007-2008: G. Van Lottum, Redbourn
2008-2009: B. White, Whipsnade Park
2009-2010: J. F. Saunders, Mid-Herts
2010-2011: J.D. Thorpe, Bushey Hall
2011-2012: D. Bailey, Hadley Wood
2012-2013: A.D. Nemes, Knebworth
2013-2014 E. Wyllie, Aldwickbury Park

2014-2015 M.E. Plumbley, Letchworth

2015-2016: R.Johnson, Aldenham

2016 - 2017: R. Howell, Arkley

2017-2018: R. Browning, East Herts

1983-1995 R.T. Crameri
1996-1997 Ted Shipway
1997-1998 Bill Fernie
1999-2000 Roland Bird
2001-2002 George Nye
2003-2004 Eric Scriven
2005-2006 Clive Harkett
2007 P. Leckie Brown
2008 Ron Hewitt
2009 Alan Sallis
2010 David Mitchell
2011 Jim Williams
2012 John Wackett
2013 Bill Pearson

2014 Mike Nash 

2015 John Welch

2016 Don Craik

2017 Les Sinkins

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.